The Les Salvards estate has a rich history, which we are uncovering bit by bit as we go along! The maison dates back to 1836 and was previously owned by a Belgian family, a famous baron, an artist and finally a ‘normal’ French family, from which we bought the property in 2007. Partly rundown and surrounded by the estate’s land plots, ‘the chateau’, as the maison is also known, never lost its unique character. Two side wings were added in 1890.
French artist Emmanuel de la Villeon (1858-1944) lived in our maison from 1901 to 1936. His impressionist work is comparable to that of Monet, and although De la Villeon never achieved the same amount of recognition, his works do well at auctions. The most recent overview of his work can be viewed at Galerie Peirce in Paris, which also sells paintings on behalf of his family. Many of the 3,000 to 4,000 paintings he created over the course of his career depict our maison, its gardens and the surrounding environment